Math 495R, Fall 2018

Instructors: Paul Jenkins and Michael Griffin
TAs: Ryan Keck and Jane Cox
Class time: 1:00-2:50 TTh, 150 TMCB
Office hours:

  • Jenkins: 3:00-3:50 PM MWF, 282 TMCB
  • Griffin: 2:00-2:50 PM TThF, 320 TMCB
  • Ryan: 12:00-12:50 PM T, 11:00-12:50 PM Th, 149 or 150 TMCB
  • Jane: 5:00-5:50 PM T, 3:00-3:50 PM Th, 150 TMCB

Grades: Final grades will be based on homework sets.  Scores will be available on BYU Learning Suite.  No scores will be dropped, but two homework sets of your choice may be resubmitted and regraded at certain points in the semester.  Homework will be due at 5 PM the Monday (for Tuesday labs) or Wednesday (for Thursday labs) after it is assigned.

Resources

Some of the homework problems will come from the ACME course materials.  They are available here: Python Essentials.  This document includes the Introduction to Python lab.

Some of the homework problems will come from Project Euler.

You may find the MIT OpenCourseWare course on Introduction to Computer Science and Programming in Python helpful.

Advice on how to be a computer expert is here.  General Python help can be found here.

Homework problems

Tuesday September 4: Homework 1, due Monday September 10
Thursday September 6: Homework 2, due Wednesday September 12
Tuesday September 11: Homework 3, due Monday September 17
Thursday September 13: Homework 4, due Wednesday September 19;  LaTeX resources may be found here.
Tuesday September 18: Homework 5, due Monday September 24
Thursday September 20: Homework 6, due Wednesday September 26
Tuesday September 25: Homework 7, due Monday October 1
Thursday September 27: Homework 8, due Wednesday October 3
Tuesday October 2: No new homework.  Get caught up and study for the 290 midterm.
Thursday October 4: Homework 9, due Wednesday October 10
Tuesday October 9: Homework 10, due Monday October 15
Thursday October 11: Homework 11, due Wednesday October 17
Tuesday October 16: Homework 12, due Monday October 22
Thursday October 18: Homework 13, due Wednesday October 24
Tuesday October 23: Homework 14, due Monday October 29
Thursday October 25: Homework 15, due Wednesday October 31
Tuesday October 30: No new homework.  Get caught up and study for midterms.
Thursday November 1: Homework 16, due Wednesday November 7
Tuesday November 6: Homework 17, due Monday November 12
Thursday November 8: Homework 18, due Wednesday November 14
Tuesday November 13: Homework 19, due Monday November 19
Thursday November 15: Homework 20, due Wednesday November 28 (extended due to website being down over Thanksgiving break)
Tuesday November 27: No new homework; may resubmit one assignment by Monday December 3.  It should be well commented and have descriptive variable names.  Get caught up and study for the midterm exams.
Thursday November 29: Homework 21, due Wednesday December 5
Tuesday December 4: Homework 22, due Monday December 10
Thursday December 6: Homework 23, due Wednesday December 12
Tuesday December 11: Homework 24, due Thursday December 13
Thursday December 13: No new homework; may resubmit one assignment by Wednesday December 19.  It should be well commented and have descriptive variable names.