The Savage Teaching Award

Tyler Jarvis is the eighth recipient of the Savage Teaching Award for Distinguished Teaching of Mathematics. This award is presented every other year, usually in October. Nominees for the Savage Teaching Award are widely recognized as successful teachers who positively influence their students with effective teaching and who foster excitement about mathematics in and out of the classroom.

The Savage Teaching Award was established to honor the many dedicated teachers in the BYU Department of Mathematics. Past recipients of the award include Dr. Stephen Humphries, Kening Lu, Chris Grant, Rodney Forcade, Darrin Doud, Michael Dorff, and David Cardon. Additionally, Wayne Barrett, Peter Bates, James Cannon, Peter Crawley, Lawrence Fearnley, Kenneth Hillam, Kenneth Larson, Hal Moore, and Don Robinson have been specially recognized as award recipients.

Dr. Jarvis will be presented $1,000 and a bronze sculpture, “Wildfire,” by Helaman Ferguson, a former member of the BYU Department of Mathematics. The award presentation will take place on Thursday, October 3 at 4:00 pm in 1170 TMCB. Refreshments will be served at 3:30 pm in the lobby outside of 1170 TMCB. Faculty, graduate students, undergraduate students, and the BYU Community are invited to attend.