Reading Assignments

(main course page)

Assignments:

  1. For Friday September 8 lecture:  Answer the following Introduction questions in a blog entry.
  2. For Friday September 8 lecture:  Read and blog about Sections 1.1-1.2.
  3. For Monday September 11 lecture: Read and blog about Section 1.3.
  4. For Wednesday September 13 lecture: Read and blog about Section 1.4.
  5. For Friday September 15 lecture: Read and blog about Section 1.5. Note that you may make up a missed blog assignment by attending the public lecture by Ken Ono (Emory University) and showing of the film The Man Who Knew Infinity at 6:30 PM on Friday September 15 in the Nelke Theatre in the HFAC and blogging about it.
  6. For Monday September 18 lecture: Read and blog about Section 2.1.
  7. For Wednesday September 20 lecture: Read and blog about Section 2.2.
  8. For Friday September 22 lecture: Read and blog about Section 2.4.
  9. For Monday September 25 lecture: Read and blog about Section 2.5. You may be interested in Tyler Jarvis's BYU devotional talk from 2013.
  10. For Wednesday September 27 lecture: Read and blog about Section 2.8. Additionally, answer some or all of the following questions.
  11. For Friday September 29 lecture: Read and blog about Section 3.1. The daily thought/study tip will be related to chapter 1 (pages 1-7 and the Takeaway on pages 21-22) of the book Make It Stick. Note that you may make up a missed blog assignment by attending the Focus on Math talk by Robert J. Lang on Thursday September 28 at 4:30 PM in 1170 TMCB and blogging about it.
  12. For Monday October 2 lecture: Read and blog about Section 3.2.
  13. For Wednesday October 4 lecture: Read and blog about Section 3.3.
  14. For Friday October 6 lecture: Read and blog about Section 3.4. You may be interested in the ideas in Chapter 2 of Make It Stick (pages 23-30 and the Takeaway on pages 43-45).
  15. For Monday October 9 lecture: Read and blog about Section 4.1.
  16. For Wednesday October 11 lecture: Read and blog about Section 4.2. You might be interested in this article about a new algorithm for the asymmetric traveling salesman problem.
  17. For Friday October 13 lecture: Read and blog about Section 4.3. You may be interested in the ideas in Chapter 3 of Make It Stick (pages 46-53 and the Takeaway on pages 63-66).
  18. For Monday October 16 lecture: Read and blog about Section 4.4.
  19. For Wednesday October 18, as you study for the exam, write responses to the following questions. There is a study guide available here.
  20. Thinking about the answers to these questions can help guide your study.
  21. For Friday October 20 lecture: Read and blog about Section 5.1, handed out in class on Wednesday. You may be interested in the ideas in Chapter 4 of Make It Stick (pages 67-76 and the Takeaway on pages 100-101).
  22. For Monday October 23 lecture: Read and blog about Section 5.2.
  23. For Wednesday October 25 lecture: Read and blog about Section 5.3. You may make up a missed reading assignment by attending Todd Fisher's talk "Does God Play Dice?" at 4:30 PM in 1170 TMCB on Thursday October 26.
  24. For Friday October 27 lecture: Read and blog about Section 5.4. You may be interested in the ideas in Chapter 5 of Make It Stick (pages 102-120).
  25. For Monday October 30 lecture: Read and blog about Section 5.5.
  26. For Wednesday November 1 lecture: Read and blog about Section 5.6.
  27. For Friday November 3 lecture: Read and blog about Section 5.7. You may be interested in the ideas in Chapter 6 of Make It Stick (pages 131-146 and the Takeaway on pages 158-161).
  28. For Monday November 6 lecture: Read and blog about Section 6.1.
  29. For Wednesday November 8 lecture: Read and blog about Section 6.2.
  30. For Friday November 10 lecture: Read and blog about Section 6.3. You may be interested in the ideas in Chapter 7 of Make It Stick (pages 162-179 and the Takeaway on page 199).
  31. For Monday November 13 lecture: Read and blog about Section 6.4.
  32. For Wednesday November 15, as you study for the exam, write responses to the following questions. There is a study guide available here.
  33. Thinking about the answers to these questions can help guide your study. You may make up a missed reading assignment by attending the talk by Ross Curtis (AncestryDNA) at 4:30 PM in 1170 TMCB on Thursday November 16.
  34. For Friday November 17 lecture: Read and blog about Section 7.1. You may be interested in the ideas in Chapter 8 of Make It Stick (pages 200-225).
  35. For Monday November 20 lecture: Read and blog about Section 7.2. You may be interested in Jim Cannon's thoughts on mathematics and faith.
  36. For Tuesday November 21 lecture: Read and blog about Appendix B in Volume 1.
  37. For Monday November 27 lecture: Read and blog about Section 8.1.
  38. For Wednesday November 29 lecture: Read and blog about Section 8.2.
  39. For Friday December 1 lecture: Read and blog about Section 8.3.
  40. For Monday December 4 lecture: Read and blog about Section 8.4 (handed out in class on Friday).
  41. For Wednesday December 6 lecture: Read and blog about Section 8.5.
  42. For Friday December 8 lecture: Read and blog about Section 8.6 (handed out in class on Wednesday).
  43. For Monday December 11 lecture: Read and blog about Section 8.7 (handed out in class on Friday).
  44. For Wednesday December 13 lecture: Complete your student ratings for this course. As you prepare for the final exam, write responses to the following questions.

If for whatever reason you are uncomfortable doing a certain assignment on your blog (for instance, if you'd rather not have your answers to specific questions on the Internet), you may send me that particular assignment by email.

Instructions:

Setting up a blog:

Note:  these instructions should only be followed once.  Once you’ve created a blog, just add new posts to it for each reading assignment.

Make sure to do all of this and to do Assignment 2 (Sections 1.1-1.2) by 11:59 PM on Thursday September 7.