Reading Assignments

(main course page)

Assignments:

  1. For Wednesday August 31 lecture:  Answer the following Introduction questions in a blog entry.
  2. For Wednesday August 31 lecture:  Read and blog about Sections 1.1-1.3 (second edition) or read and blog about Sections 1.1-1.3 and problem 15 of section 1.2 (third edition).
  3. For Friday September 2 lecture: Read and blog about Section 2.1.
  4. For Wednesday September 7 lecture: Read and blog about Section 2.2.
  5. For Friday September 9 lecture: Read and blog about Section 2.3.
  6. For Monday September 12 lecture: Read and blog about Section 3.1 through the middle of page 48 (second edition) or the end of page 50 (third edition).
  7. For Wednesday September 14 lecture: Read and blog about the rest of Section 3.1.
  8. For Friday September 16 lecture: Read and blog about Section 3.2.
  9. For Monday September 19 lecture: Read and blog about section 3.3.
  10. For Wednesday September 21 lecture: Write responses to some or all of the following questions.
  11. For Friday September 23 lecture: Read and blog about Section 9.4 (second edition) or 10.4 (third edition).
  12. For Monday September 26 lecture: As you study for the exam (note that there is a study guide available here), write responses to the following questions.
  13. Thinking about the answers to these questions can help guide your study. Remember also that the mathematics department's learning outcomes for Math 371 state that students
    should know all relevant definitions, correct statements of the major theorems (including their hypotheses and limitations), and examples and non-examples of the various concepts. The students should be able to demonstrate their mastery by solving non-trivial problems related to these concepts, and by proving simple (but non-trivial) theorems about the…concepts, related to, but not identical to, statements proven by the text or instructor.
  14. For Wednesday September 28 lecture: Read and blog about Section 4.1.
  15. For Friday September 30 lecture: Read and blog about Section 4.2.
  16. For Monday October 3 lecture: Read and blog about Section 4.3. You may make up a missed reading assignment by going to the talk given by Enrico Bombieri, a Fields medalist, at 4 PM on Tuesday October 4 in 1170 TMCB and blogging about it.
  17. For Wednesday October 5 lecture: Read and blog about Section 4.4.
  18. For Friday October 7 lecture: Read and blog about sections 4.5 and 4.6.
  19. For Monday October 10 lecture: Read and blog about Section 5.1.
  20. For Wednesday October 12 lecture: Read and blog about Section 5.2. You may make up a missed reading assignment by going to the talk by Chris Chase at 11 AM on Thursday October 13 in 1170 TMCB and blogging about it or by going to the talk given by Mark Embree at 4 PM on Thursday October 13 in 1170 TMCB and blogging about it.
  21. For Friday October 14 lecture: Read and blog about Section 5.3.
  22. For Monday October 17 lecture: Read and blog about Section 6.1 through the middle of page 138 (second edition) or through page 145 (third edition).
  23. For Wednesday October 19 lecture: Read and blog about the rest of section 6.1 and Section 6.2 up through the middle of page 147 (second edition) or the middle of page 154 (third edition).
  24. For Friday October 21 lecture: Read and blog about the rest of Section 6.2.
  25. For Monday October 24 lecture: Read and blog about Section 6.3.
  26. For Wednesday October 26 lecture: As you study for the exam (note that there is a study guide available here), write responses to the following questions.
  27. For Friday October 28 lecture: Read and blog about Section 7.1 up through the first full example on page 164 (second edition) or throught the first full example on page 173 (third edition).
  28. For Monday October 31 lecture: Read and blog about the rest of Section 7.1.
  29. For Wednesday November 2 lecture: Read and blog about Section 7.2.
  30. For Friday November 4 lecture: Read and blog about Section 7.3.
  31. For Monday November 7 lecture: Read and blog about Section 7.4.
  32. For Wednesday November 9 lecture: Read and blog about Section 7.9 (second edition) or Section 7.5 (third edition).
  33. For Friday November 11 lecture: Read and blog about Section 7.5 up through Corollary 7.27 (second edition) or Section 8.1 up through Corollary 8.6 (third edition).
  34. For Monday November 14 lecture: Read and blog about the rest of Section 7.5 and Section 7.6 through page 211 (second edition) or the rest of Section 8.1 and Section 8.2 up through Example 6 (third edition). You may make up a missed reading assignment by going to Barry Simon's talk at 4 PM on Monday November 14 in 3106 JKB and blogging about it.
  35. For Wednesday November 16 lecture: Read and blog about the rest of Section 7.6 (second edition) or the rest of Section 8.2 (third edition).
  36. For Friday November 18 lecture: Read and blog about Section 7.7 (second edition) or Section 8.3 (third edition).
  37. For Monday November 21 lecture: Read and blog about Section 7.8 (second edition) or Section 8.4 (third edition).
  38. For Tuesday November 22 lecture: Read and blog about Section 7.10 (second edition) or Section 8.5 (third edition).
  39. For Monday November 28 lecture: As you study for the exam (note that there is a study guide available here), write responses to the following questions.
  40. For Wednesday November 30 lecture: Read and blog about Section 8.1 (second edition) or Section 9.1 (third edition).
  41. For Friday December 2 lecture: Read and blog about Section 8.2 (second edition) or Section 9.2 (third edition).
  42. For Monday December 5 lecture: Read and blog about Sections 8.3 and 8.4 (second edition) or Sections 9.3 and 9.4 (third edition).
  43. For Wednesday December 7 lecture: Read and blog about Section 8.5 (second edition) or Section 9.5 (third edition). Complete your student ratings for this course. As you study for the final exam (note that there is a study guide available here, and the proof of Cauchy's theorem from class is available here), write responses to the following questions.

If for whatever reason you are uncomfortable doing a certain assignment on your blog (for instance, if you'd rather not have your answers to specific questions out there on the Internet), you may send me that particular assignment by email.

Instructions:

Setting up a blog:

Note:  these instructions should only be followed once.  Once you’ve created a blog, just add new posts to it for each reading assignment.

Make sure to do all of this and to do Assignment 2 (Sections 1.1-1.3) by 11:59 PM on Tuesday August 30.